
	
	

IAC	Varsity	&	JV	National	Championships			
Bee	Competition	Rules	Summary	for	Preliminary	Rounds	

	
Thank	you	for	participating	in	the	IAC	National	Championships!	This	rules	document	
explains	 the	 gameplay	 rules	 for	 the	preliminary	 rounds	of	 this	weekend’s	 buzzer-
based	individual	events:	the	National	Political	Science	Bee,	US	History	Bee,	National	
Geography	Bee,	National	Academic	Bee,	National	Science	Bee,	&	National	History	Bee.	
Other	documents	and	websites	describe	the	tournament	structure	of	each	event	and	
the	playoff	rules.	If	you	have	specific	questions	regarding	more	detailed	aspects	of	the	
rules,	please	ask	a	tournament	official.		
	
Gameplay		
Bee	events	at	Nationals	are	played	in	two	phases	–	Preliminaries	and	Playoffs.	During	
the	Preliminary	Rounds,	you	will	be	playing	against	other	students	in	a	buzzer-based	
competition	in	a	race	to	8	points.	Once	you	reach	8	points,	you	will	earn	bonus	points	
based	on	how	quickly	you	reach	the	8th	point.	The	following	schematic	is	used:	
	

If	 a	 student	 goes	 out	 on	 this	 question	
number:	

They	receive	this	many	bonus	
points:	

For	 a	 score	 for	 the	
round	of:	

8	 7	 15	
9-10	 6	 14	
11-12	 5	 13	
13-15	 4	 12	
16-20	 3	 11	
20-25	 2	 10	
25-30	 1	 9	
31-35	 0	 8	

	
Each	correct	tossup	answer	will	earn	you	1	point.	To	prevent	matches	from	going	on	
too	long,	three	incorrect	answers	will	end	the	opportunity	to	answer	that	tossup	for	
all	 students.	 If	 the	moderator	 is	 still	 reading	 the	 question	 and	 you	 give	 the	 third	
incorrect	answer,	you	will	be	deducted	one	point.	If	the	reader	has	finished	reading	
the	question,	there	is	no	penalty.	There	is	no	penalty	for	giving	either	the	1st	or	2nd		
incorrect	 answer.	 You	 may	 be	 prompted	 by	 the	 moderator	 to	 provide	 a	 more	
complete	answer	if	need	be.	You	can	correct	your	answer	if	you	wish,	but	you	must	
do	 this	 immediately;	once	 the	moderator	begins	 ruling	on	 the	 correctness	of	 your	
answer,	you	cannot	change	your	answer.	If	a	tossup	begins	with	only	three	students	
eligible	to	play	it	(i.e.	because	other	students	in	the	room	have	gone	out	at	that	point),	
then	the	minus	one	rule	for	a	third	incorrect	buzz	is	not	in	effect.	



	
Punctuality	
Late	arriving	students	may	enter	the	game	at	any	point,	though	their	score	will	only	
be	 adjusted	 if	 their	 arriving	 late	 to	 a	 round	was	a	mistake	on	 the	part	of	 IAC	 (for	
example,	they	were	given	an	incorrect	room	assignment).	
	
Timing		
The	reader	will	wait	three	seconds	after	finishing	reading	the	question	before	calling	
it	dead	and	moving	on	to	the	next	tossup.	If	a	player	buzzes	in	during	this	time	and	is	
incorrect,	 then	 the	 three	 second	 count	 begins	 again.	 After	 a	 player	 buzzes	 in,	 the	
reader	will	 allow	 three	 seconds	 to	 give	 your	 answer.	 You	need	not	 be	 recognized	
before	you	start	giving	your	answer,	although	it	is	advisable	to	wait.	Timing	decisions	
are	not	protestable.		
	
Protests	and	Disrupted	Tossups		
If	 you	 wish	 to	 protest	 a	 question,	 you	 must	 bring	 it	 to	 the	 reader’s	 attention	
immediately	(i.e.	say	“protest”	before	the	reader	is	more	than	a	few	words	into	the	
next	question)	then	fill	out	a	protest	form	at	the	end	of	the	round.	You	can	only	protest	
answers	you	have	given,	not	the	moderator’s	judgment	on	another	student’s	answer.	
(The	sole	exception	to	this:	protesting	that	the	rules	were	not	applied	correctly.)	If	
the	reader	botches	a	question,	there	are	makeup	questions	included	with	each	round	
that	 can	 be	 used.	 If	 you	 speak	 out	 of	 turn,	 you	 do	 not	 lose	 a	 point,	 but	 you	 are	
disqualified	for	the	question,	and	the	question	is	still	alive	for	everyone	else.		
	
If	the	moderator	inadvertently	reveals	the	answer	when	a	student	speaks	out	of	turn,	
then	a	makeup	question	is	played	approximating	the	conditions	of	the	botched	tossup	
question	as	much	as	possible.	For	example,	if	two	players	buzz	incorrectly,	and	then	
a	 3rd	 player	 speaks	 out	 of	 turn	 (i.e.	 their	 buzzer	 light	 did	 not	 come	 on),	 then	 the	
blurting	student	is	not	penalized	a	point,	but	is	out	on	the	makeup	question,	as	are	the	
two	students	who	had	buzzed	incorrectly.	The	makeup	question	is	played	from	the	
start	as	if	two	students	had	already	answered	incorrectly.	Thus	even	one	incorrect	
buzz	on	the	makeup	question	would	incur	a	-1	point	penalty.		
	
If	the	protest	is	made	on	the	basis	of	“I	should	have	been	prompted	and	I	wasn’t”	then	
if	the	protest	is	upheld,	the	protesting	student	is	granted	a	point	in	the	preliminary	
rounds	(because	throwing	out	the	question	and	trying	to	find	all	 the	students	who	
were	in	the	room	to	do	a	makeup	question	would	be	very	difficult	logistically).	In	the	
playoff	rounds	in	this	situation,	the	question	is	thrown	out,	and	a	makeup	question	is	
read	for	any	students	who	were	still	playing	at	that	point	when	the	protesting	student	
buzzed.	Incorrect	buzzes	and	negative	points	incurred	prior	to	this	buzz	still	stand,	
but	a	correct	buzz	after	the	student	who	should	have	been	prompted	does	not	stand	
and	the	points	do	not	accrue,	because	the	player	who	should	have	been	prompted	
may	well	have	answered	with	the	correct	answer.	
	
Note	 that	 if	a	protest	 in	Bee	preliminary	rounds	results	 in	a	student	being	given	a	
point,	but	another	student	was	initially	given	credit	for	a	correct	answer,	then	BOTH	



students	are	credited	with	the	point	(since	otherwise,	this	could	wreak	havoc	with	
trying	 to	 determine	 bonus	 points	 for	 a	 student	 who	 is	 initially	 given	 credit	 for	 a	
correct	response,	and	then	that	student	sits	out	the	remainder	of	 the	round	if	 that	
buzz	results	in	them	going	out,	either	at	that	point,	or	a	later	juncture	in	the	round.	
 
	
Advancement		
A	player’s	total	score	in	all	preliminary	rounds	is	used	to	determine	advancement	to	
the	playoffs;	full	details	on	how	many	players	advance	to	the	playoffs	are	available	in	
documents	specific	to	the	event.	Tiebreaker	tossups,	if	necessary,	are	sudden	victory;	
an	 incorrect	 buzz	 on	 a	 tiebreaker	 tossup	does	not	 automatically	 eliminate	 you.	 In	
tiebreaks,	 the	 minus	 one	 rule	 from	 the	 preliminary	 rounds	 (whereby	 the	 third	
student	buzzing	incorrectly	before	the	question	has	been	read	to	completion	receives	
a	 score	 of	minus	 one)	 is	 never	 in	 effect,	 even	 if	 there	 are	 three	 or	more	 students	
playing.	

	


